Uncategorized

Project 365 – Week 24

What a fun week! Things seemed to go a lot more smoothly, overall, than last week. Ashton did very well with housetraining. As Homer explained today to Daddy’s coworkers, “Housetraining means… no poopin’ in the house!!” And Ashton did just that – No accidents all week! Homer did great using the potty a bunch, too. He’s definitely showing increased interest in using the potty, which is pretty awesome actually. Before becoming a parent, I had no idea how excited and proud I’d feel watching my kiddo learning these things, but it really is pretty darn exciting!

As for me, I had some ups and downs regarding body image and getting healthy, etc. A few days ago, I was kind of down in the dumps about it all. But today I feel good, like I really can get healthier. Sometimes these things seem so far out of reach, but right now, I feel that awesome feeling of determination and like I can and will make some great progress in being fit and healthy. I also had a pretty good week of just feeling happy, enjoying a nice slow start to summer, spending more time outdoors, and just being present and grateful each day. I love when things feel like they’re really going right!

Anyway, without further ado, here it is, our week in pictures…

Day 164 | June 13, Fri – Friday the 13th! I love Friday the 13th. Ever since I learned why it’s considered bad or evil, I’ve had a whole new perspective on it. There are 13 full moons in a year, and Friday is considered the day of the goddess. In centuries past, and in present day, too, pagans have celebrated full moons, and various goddesses, so Friday the 13th was/is a special, sacred day of goddess worship. Eventually the church started telling everyone that all things pagan were evil, so a lot of fear and superstition grew around this day. But being into pagan earth worship and goddess worship, etc, myself, I find it enchanting. 🙂

Anyway, this photo was taken on our morning walk with Ashton. I love the way those Toms shoes look on him (a wonderful hand-me-down gift from Joe’s sister, Tricia, and her son, Edmund). Homer picked them out, and we were excited to find they stayed on his (ever growing) feet! It was raining a bit, hence the hood. He just looked so cute, I had to snap this…
164

Day 165 | June 14, Sat – We went to a Babies, Barbeque and Birthdays party! Our friend, Ash, is pregnant, and she and her hubby’s birthdays are coming up, so we celebrated everything all together. Auntie Cinnamon was there and got some awesome bubbles going!! Homer had a great time playing with everyone, with the water, with the bubbles. The doggies were there and had fun too. It was great!
165

Day 166 | June 15, Sun – Happy Father’s Day!! We took Homer to his very first movie!! Before I had kids, I’d see kids in movie theaters and think, “I can’t wait to do that with my own kid one day.” And that day was today!!! We saw How to Train Your Dragons 2. It was enjoyable, but nothing can beat the first, in my opinion. Homer was amazing. He was so excited to eat popcorn and red vines! In the beginning, he said, “Hey the moon!” And “Look, he’s fishing!”

dreamworks

And later, at normal speaking volume, he told me, “Mommy, we’re out of popcorn.” A little while later, the mostly empty (apart from a few crumbs) popcorn tub was on his head, and all the crumbs were in his hair. So silly! Toward the end, he conked out completely as he leaned against me! Even missing the end of it, he really liked going to the movies, and I’m so glad we all had such a great time going together.
166

Day 167 | June 16, Mon – We had to go to Discount Tire and get all new tires today. Homer had fun in the waiting area. He loves water fountains. Mostly, I took this because, look how tall he is!!! I can hardly believe it. He seems so grown up at moments like these. Then again, he is on his tippie toes. At least he has to reach a little bit still! 😉
167

Day 168 | June 17, Tues – Strawberry picking! It was really fun! We went for the first time last year, and were glad to go this year too.
168

I also like this shot:
168_a

Day 169 | June 18, Wed – Today one of my moms’ groups hosted a Messy Play Date! It was pretty awesome. Here’s Homer handling some cooked, wet, green and glittered noodles that he was enjoying tossing with other willing participants! Too funny!
169

Day 170 | June 19, Thurs – Homer, Ashton, and I had lunch at Daddy’s workplace today. It was a lot of fun. Homer is so outgoing with all of Joe’s coworkers, and told Cara, “Come on, let’s battle!!” So this is them, battling! 😉 She’s awesome!
170

As always, thanks for stopping by! Hope you all had a great week!

= = = = = = =

Join us in taking a photo a day for the entire year! Visit the gracious hosts of this project if you like: Mindi from Simply Stavish, Sarah from Nurse Loves Farmer, and Stephanie from Behind the Camera and Dreaming.

Start any time, and link up every Friday:

Catch the Moment
6 thoughts on “Project 365 – Week 24”

Leave a Reply

